The Missouri Community Service Commission’s (MCSC) vision is a Missouri where every Missourian knows they have the ability to volunteer in their community.

MCSC is housed within the Harry S. Truman Building in Jefferson City, Missouri, and is a part of the Business and Community Solutions Division of the Missouri Department of Economic Development. MCSC promotes and recognizes service volunteers and oversees the AmeriCorps programs in Missouri. 


Strengthening Missouri communities through volunteerism and service. 


MCSC was established in 1994 as a direct response to the National and Community Service Trust Act of 1993. MCSC receives funds from the Corporation for National and Community Service, awarding grants to local organizations enabling the establishment of AmeriCorps programs. 

Enabling Statute: Missouri Community Service Act – RSMo 620.580-592

Commission By-Laws (as amended 10/21/21)


Each year, over 1.5 million Missourians volunteer in their community.
They contribute 133 million hours worth $3.2 billion to Missouri! 

Since 1994, more than 17,000 Missourians have served in AmeriCorps, providing over 24 million hours of service equal to over $616 million in service time to Missouri communities. MCSC’s AmeriCorps Members volunteer up to a year of service through projects ranging from tutoring, youth mentoring, public safety, housing rehabilitation, health care, environmental issues, disaster relief, and more.

MCSC Commissioners Overview

  • To apply to be a Commissioner, visit https://boards.mo.gov/.
  • MCSC Commissioners, which are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, meet quarterly and provide oversight and strategic guidance.
  • Commissioners serve a 3-year-term length and includes and represent community organizations, local government, businesses, labor, and other populations.
  • Commissioners meet a minimum of four times a year at meetings held throughout the state
  • No more than half of the voting members may be members of the same political party


John Albright, Chair

Jennifer Ingraham, Vice Chair

Gary Budoor

Carrie Gallagher Crompton

Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe

(Adam Gresham, proxy)

Dr. Margie Vandeven

(Cindy Heislen, proxy)

William “Skip” Stephens

Russell Unger


Jamie Crispin, Corporation for National and Community Service